Review: The Face Shop Face It Oil Cut Pore Balm

Today I’m doing a review on The Face Shop’s Face It primer.  It’s become quite famous in Korea for being on a popular beauty show called “Get It Beauty.”  It is a face base primer but unlike most primers out there, this one is formulated solid in a jar.  It smells like lemons and I love that about the product because it just makes applying the primer 10 x much fresher (if that makes any sense to you).

It claims to do:

  • Fill visible pores and fine lines for porcelain-like smooth skin.
  • Prevent sheen caused by excessive sebum and keeps the skin soft all day long.
  • Improve adherence to the skin of products used in subsequent stages for a velvet-like smooth finish.

DSCN7627 DSCN7628 DSCN7629 DSCN7630

To be honest, the formulation was a bit strange to me when I first opened up the jar because I had never seen a solid primer before.  I gave it a try anyway and applied it onto my skin, using the sponge that it comes with.  I have to say I’m not a big fan of the sponge applicator because it’s just too unsanitary for me, but I guess it’s better than using my fingers.  
DSCN7631

The product goes on very smoothly and doesn’t move around and the base makeup like foundation or BB cream wears nicely on top of the primer.  However, this product can make you look a bit dry if you’re not careful when applying.  Make sure not to use too much or else you’ll look like a dry patch ball.  I’d highly recommend this to those who have very oily skin.  They do have one for non-oily skin type, which is in a pink jar.

Overall, I like this product.  It retails for about $8 in Korea and $11 in the states.  If you’re in the states you can get it here on Amazon.  Although I think this is a great product, it isn’t a holy grail item for me.  It’s just an average, easy to get your hands on, affordable primer (whew, that was mouthful).

If any of you have tried this product please let us know in the comments how you liked it!

2 thoughts on “Review: The Face Shop Face It Oil Cut Pore Balm

Leave a comment