Back to School Drugstore Makeup

Hi everyone!
I thought it’d be appropriate to do a post on back to school drugstore makeup.  I know a lot of students can’t afford such high end products from department stores but hey, that won’t stop us from getting beauty goodies.  I’ve recently gone through my vanity drawers and actually found some really good products from drugstore.  They’re just as good as those high end ones which are sometimes crazy over-priced.  Below are some of my favorite affordable beauty items.

IMG_20130821_090258

Clockwise:
1. Maybelline Eyestudio Quad in Green With Envy
2. Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush in Candy Coral
3. NYX Jumbo Lip Pencil in 724 Chaos
4. Myabelline Master Precise Eyeliner in Black
5. Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer in Ivory
6. Loreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Bronzed Taupe
7. Maybelline 24hr Color Tattoo from Metal Collection in Barely Branded
8. Elf Eyebrow Kit in Medium
9. Maybelline The Falsies Mascara
10. Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer
11. Neutrogena SkinClearing Oil-Free Makeup Foundation in Natural Beige

 Some close shots:

DSCN7583 DSCN7581

Loreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Bronzed Taupe: Amazing amazing drugstore eyeshadow.  It’s not a pigment but the pigmentation is excellent and the formula is just over the moon.  It is very creamy and silky and applies like a cream shadow.  Highly recommend it!

DSCN7590 DSCN7589 DSCN7588 DSCN7587

Maybelline 24hr Color Tattoo: this particular shade that I have is in Barely Branded from the Metal Collection.  It is such a gorgeous color; I use this almost everyday on my eyelids to highlight or to wear it alone.  It’s a great everyday shadow color.  This is a cream shadow so it’s really easy to apply and since the color isn’t so obvious on the lids, you don’t need to worry about it getting all over the places.  It is great for beginners.

DSCN7592 DSCN7591

Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush: I have this in color Candy Coral and it is such a great natural color to put on those cheeks of yours.  I did a very close shot to show you what the consistency is like.  Just like the name of this blush, it is very bouncy; it’s a little different than cream blushes.  This blush is an either love or hate product and I love it.  Some may not like it because of the not so great pigmentation but I personally like that because who needs heavy makeup when you’re going to school?  Really.  Unless you’re attending special events.  I think this blush would be a great choice for teens in high school.

DSCN7585

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer and Dream Lumi Highlighting Concealer: these two concealers, I’ve been using for more than a year.  I don’t think you need both of them to achieve the “awake” look but I wanted to feature both of them on here so that you can have choices.  I’d say more people use the Age Rewind concealer but I like both equally.  When it comes to choosing the right shade, I don’t think you really need to worry about picking the right color because I have an olive base and I still use the lightest colors in the collections.  They’re meant to do a highlighting job after all.  As long as you blend in the color of the concealer into your base color very well, I think it is a OKAY!  I’d say, don’t stress over getting the right shade.

DSCN7586

Maybelline Eyestudio Quad in Green With Envy: This is such a great everyday palette.  I cannot say enough good things about this product.  The colors in this palette are just right up my alley.  It has a great highlighting color, a perfect natural toned shimmery light gold/brown color, a muted hunter green color and a dark almost black color with green undertones.  I did a separate post on this palette so if you want, check it out here.

DSCN7595 DSCN7594 DSCN7593

Maybelline Master Precise Eyeliner: This eyeliner isn’t my holy grail but I like it because it gets the job done and for me it’s easier to control the pen when I’m drawing a line.  It is black but not as black I would like it to be but I don’t mind because when it comes to school makeup I want my makeup to be as natural as possible.

DSCN7597 DSCN7596

NYX Jumbo Lip Pencil: This lip pencil is highly pigmented but still feels like a balm.  It’s just awesome overall.  It goes on so smooth and easy to blend with other colors if you want.  The color I have is in Chaos; it looks very bright, a “in-your-face” type of color but when applied on the lips it doesn’t look as bright as it is on the tube.  Obviously it depends on how many “layers” you put on.  I love a clean eye makeup with a really bold lip look so this lip item is a must have for me.

DSCN7598

Elf Eyebrow Kit: As you can see in the picture, I’ve already hit pan on this thing.  When you hit a pan on something, that’s when you know you must really like that product.  This kit is such a steal; you can get it at target for $3.  I mean you can’t go wrong with that price point, right?  It comes with a gel to shape your brow and a powder to set.  If you’re looking for something that you can use to slightly fill in your brow, try this product.  To use this product, you need a brush and the small angled brush from Elf and this brow kit make a perfect brow duo.  While picking up this product, get the brush as well.

That wraps up our back to school makeup.  Let us know what your favorite makeup items from drugstore and what your favorite makeup looks are for school.  Hope you enjoyed reading!

Stay jazzy!

xx,

all that jaes

One thought on “Back to School Drugstore Makeup

  1. Pingback: Benefit Smokin’ Eyes | all that jaes

Leave a Reply

